Scottish Borders Hill Race Series

Apologies that this is too late for the first race, but was only received this week. Colin Williams is coordinating the inaugural "Scottish Borders Hill Race Series" sponsored by James Jones & Sons Ltd. The basic website is here: Scottish Borders Hill Race Series  ( . The series consists of 10 short to medium races throughout the Borders in Spring and Summer. It is open to anyone over 18 years old and participants will have to complete a minimum of 5 races to qualify for a series placing. If you do more races then your 5 highest finishes will count. The overall idea is a bit of prestige but also to increase numbers and promote the different races throughout the beautiful Scottish Borders in an increasing busy calendar. There is no additional fee or registration required to enter the series. To take part you simply need to enter the participating races as normal which are mainly Entry On the Day (EOD) except the Eildons and Baddinsgill which are pre-entry only.

The races for 2016 are: 


Date 2016

Organiser details /Event Website


Sat 19 March

Robin Morris [email protected]

Gypsy Glen

Wed 18 May

Mike Pearson [email protected]

Moorfoot Runners


Sun 5 June

Les Turnbull [email protected]

Norham AC


Sat 25 June

Gerry Moss [email protected]

Gala Harriers

Black Hill

Tues 5 July

David Young [email protected]


Sun 7 August

Sheila Cochrane [email protected]

Selkirk Fund Runners


Sat 13 August

Gregor Nicholson [email protected]

Moorfoot Runners


Sun 28 August

Nick Brown [email protected]

Corstophine AAC

Devils Beef Tub

Sat 3 Sept

Willie Gibson [email protected]

Carnethy HRC

Penchrise Pen

Sun 18 Sept

Paul Lockie [email protected]

Teviotdale Harriers

All the race details are found on and Please contact the individual race organisers with queries about specific events.

The Scottish Borders Hill Race Series will have (modest) prizes for the following categories:

  • 1st overall male and female winners
  • 1st M + F Borders resident/ club member (if not the overall winner)
  • 1st Vet in categories where three or more finishers

Prize giving will take place after the last race in the Series, the Penchrise Pen.