From Dunbar to Inverness

Dunbar Running Club hosted their annual 10 mile mile multi-terrain race on Saturday, sponsored by British Energy.

The gale-force conditions made the run a difficult one, particularly on the final climb, but that didn’t deter the winner, 17 year old Andrew Crichton of Dunbar Running Club, from finishing in under an hour in 59:35, nearly four minutes ahead of Moray Peterson of Portobello, who finished in 1:03:33. Stuart MacLeod of Edinburgh AC finished third in 1:04:23. He was closely followed by Charlie Gillon of Alnwick Harriers, who took first veteran prize in 1:04:39. First male supervet was Stuart Symington of Dunbar in 1:06:56.

First female over the line was Katy Anderson of Gala Harriers in 1:12:08 – well ahead of the second placed female, club mate Jane Chalmers, who finished in 1:18:15. Third female was Marie Storrie of Lothian Running Club in 1:20:46. The female vertan prize went to Saran Jones of Lothian in 1:23:17 and first female supervet went to Jill Horsburgh of Lothian in 1:24:26. The male team prize was presented to Dunbar – Andrew, Stuart and Ross Combe; the female team prize to Lothian – Marie, Saran and Jill.

Race Director, Stuart Hay, thanked the sponsors and everyone who helped make the event a successful one.

The following day, several Dunbar runners took part in the Baxters Loch Ness Marathon and 10K. Ian Rowland finished the Marathon in 2:38:02 (46th overall), with Stuart Hay finishing in 3:00:31. Rhona Anderson had an incredible debut into the Marathon distance with a time of 3:10:55, which gave her a prize in the female veteran category. Richard Taylor also ran an excellent first Marathon with a time of 3:13:41. Also competing were Steve Pattison (3:35:18), Emma Taylor (3:47:12), Neil Jones (3:47:52 a PB), Anne Hay (3:51:13), Mary Pattison (3:55:30 – a PB), Valerie Herring (4:13:08) and Sheila Morrison (4:54:31). Running in the 10K were Andrew Anderson (43:10) and Jamie Cherrie (46:06).