Thursday, December 08, 2016

Dunbar RC Club Championship 2017 - Race List

Below is the list of races which have been approved for next year's club championship.  Please note that there are a couple of tweaks for next year - as well as being able to score points for your best marathon and ParkRun, you'll also be able to score for 800m and the mile.

Date
Race Name (2017)

Notes
Sun 1 Jan 2017
Portobello Promathon
Already open on Entry Central
Sat 28 Jan 2017
Buchlyvie 10k
Already open on Entry Central
Sat 4 Feb 2017
TEL Open XC
At JMCP
Sat 25 Feb 2017
National XC Championships
Club submits (and pays for) entries
Sat 4 Mar 2017
Kings Buildings 5
Entries on the day
Sun 12 Mar 2017
Glenkiln 12 mile road race
Open on Entry Central
Sun 19 Mar 2017
Loch Katrine Marathon, Half or 10k
Entries open between Christmas and New Year
Sun 9 Apr 2017
Grangemouth 10k

Sat 22 Apr 2017
Hunters Bog Trot
Entry on the day
Sat 6 May 2017
Edinburgh to North Berwick
Entries via East Lothian Council website
[Mon 22 May 2017]
Balerno Rigg Race
Entry on day at Currie Rugby Club
[Fri 3 Jun 2016]
Black Rock 5
Sells out very quickly – reminder will be posted on facebook page
[Sun 5 Jun 2016]
Portobello 4 mile beach race
Entries on the day at Dalriada
[Sat 10 Jun 2017]
Traprain Law
Entries on the day
Sun 11 Jun 2017
Mabie Forest Trail Race
Already open on Entry Central.
Possible bus trip - TBC
Sun 18 Jun 2017
Seven Hills of Edinburgh
Sells out quite quickly – will open on Entry Central on 3 April
[Last Thurs June - TBC]
Norham Two Banks Challenge

[early July - TBC]
Meadows 2 mile race
Entries on the day
[Sat 15 Jul 2017]
Musselburgh 10k

Sun 23 Jul 2017
Northumberland Coastal Run
Sells out quickly
[Wed 2 Aug 2017]
North Berwick Law
Entries on the day (RNLI station)
[Sat 12 Aug 2017]
Oldhamstocks Flower Show Race
Entries on the day
[Sat 26 Aug 2017]
Scottish Mid Trail Champs

[Sun 10 Sep 2017]
Stirling 10k

[Sun 17 Sep 2017]
Pitlochry 10k
Possible bus trip - TBC
Sun 24 Sep 2017
Scottish Half Marathon
Already open on event website
[Sat 14 Oct 2017]
Vogrie 5k
Free – sign up on the day
[Sun 5 Nov 2017]
Strathaven Run with the Wind 10k
Sells out quickly.  Downhill!
[November 2017]
2nd (non-Dunbar) Borders XC

[November 2017]
3rd (non-Dunbar) Borders XC

31 December 2017
Black Bun Run


·         Best 8 races to count.
·         Points awarded on the basis of your ranking for your best marathon time can count as one of your “8 best races”.
·         Similarly, points awarded for your ranking for your best two ParkRun times (best and second best times run as separate lists) can count as up to two of your “8 best races”.
·         New for this year (2017), points will also be awarded for your best 800m (track) and best mile (track or e.g. Meadows), and these can count as up to two of your “8 best races”.
·         3 points awarded per monthly 5k handicap win.  Your aggregate points for all 5k handicap wins can count as one of your “8 best races”.
·         3 points awarded for any ultra race completed.  Your aggregate points for all ultras can count as one of your “8 best races”.
·         2 points awarded per club event (Dunbar 10k, Doon Hill Race, and Borders XC) marshalled.  Your aggregate points for all events marshalled can count as one of your “8 best races”.

([ ] = specifically requested by a club member)

(date in brackets means predicted date based upon 2016 – subject to change)

Saturday, October 01, 2016

EDF Dunbar 10 Mile Race - Results



Well done to all runners on today's EDF Dunbar 10 mile race. Hope you enjoyed it.

Here are the provisional results: https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B5s5MMzUCgfGZkg0eFhYcFBjV0U/view?usp=sharing

We hope there aren't any, but please let us know of any errors.

Monday, July 18, 2016

Updated Club Championship scores

After a recent flurry of races, the Club Championship scores have been updated.

Follow the link HERE

The next race on the list is the North Berwick Law Race on 3 August 2016.  There are entries on the evening (at the lifeboat station) and it is a 7.30pm start.

A reminder that the championship is scored based on your best 8 races of the year - it really helps if you run 8 races ;-)

Sunday, June 19, 2016



Following on from previous postings of Dunbar runners in club colours in far-flung places - Keith in Dubai trying to keep his cool!

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Club Championship 2016 - Scores Update

The Club Championship scores have been updated, and can be accessed using the link in the top right-hand corner of the page.

These hopefully include all parkruns and marathons to date, but please do let Nick know if any have been missed.  Or indeed if you think he has made any mistakes.

As there are plenty of races left, there is still plenty of time for things to change.  But the key is to get racing!

Saturday, April 16, 2016

Run and Become 5km Road Race

Run and Become are again hosting the Scottish Athletics 5km road Race Championships at Silverknowes, Edinburgh on Friday evening 6th May.

The event has gained a reputation for quality,with the best in depth field, in Scotland,and a host of PB's thoughout the field.
 
Details are available at the below link.
Entry link at Entry Central 

Please note entries have been coming in well. THERE IS A 500 LIMIT AND THERE WILL BE NO ENTRIES ON THE NIGHT

Funding Neuro 10K - Strathclyde Park

This 10K race on Saturday 4th June is in aid of Funding Neuro, under Scottish/UK Athletics rules and permit.

You can find out more about the event, as well as about Funding Neuro the website:



Saturday, April 02, 2016

Dunbar 10K - Results

Here are the results of todays Dunbar 10K.
Well done to everyone who took part.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzDYb3kri99vcS1lNE96a0ZMQUE/view?usp=sharing

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Dunbar 10K 2016

Please note that the entries for the 2016 Belhaven Best Dunbar 10k Race (02 April 2016) are now open.
Details and online entry is available at
ENTRY CENTRAL (Click here). 


Please check the "races" tab for further details.

The Family Fun Run will also take place again this year - £3 to run 3K.  This will take place at 10:00 am on 2 April.  Entries on the day only for the 3K, with registration from 9:15.






Sunday, March 20, 2016

Scottish Borders Hill Race Series

Apologies that this is too late for the first race, but was only received this week. Colin Williams is coordinating the inaugural "Scottish Borders Hill Race Series" sponsored by James Jones & Sons Ltd. The basic website is here: Scottish Borders Hill Race Series  (http://bordershillraces.blogspot.co.uk/). .
 
The series consists of 10 short to medium races throughout the Borders in Spring and Summer. It is open to anyone over 18 years old and participants will have to complete a minimum of 5 races to qualify for a series placing. If you do more races then your 5 highest finishes will count.
 
The overall idea is a bit of prestige but also to increase numbers and promote the different races throughout the beautiful Scottish Borders in an increasing busy calendar. There is no additional fee or registration required to enter the series. To take part you simply need to enter the participating races as normal which are mainly Entry On the Day (EOD) except the Eildons and Baddinsgill which are pre-entry only.

The races for 2016 are:
 

Race
Date 2016
Organiser details /Event Website
Chapelgill
Sat 19 March
Robin Morris robin@rlmorris.co.uk
Gypsy Glen
Wed 18 May
Mike Pearson mike@kingsmeadows.co.uk
Moorfoot Runners www.moorfootrunners.co.uk

Yetholm
Sun 5 June
Les Turnbull les1984@btinternet.com
Norham AC

Eildons
Sat 25 June
Gerry Moss president@galaharriers.co.uk
Gala Harriers galaharriers.co.uk

Black Hill
Tues 5 July
David Young david@youngsfamily.plus.com
www.facebook.com/blackhillrace

Philiphaugh
Sun 7 August
Sheila Cochrane cochrane68@sky.com
Selkirk Fund Runners www.facebook.com/selkirkfundrunners

Cademuir
Sat 13 August
Gregor Nicholson gjn@macsinsport.co.uk
Moorfoot Runners www.moorfootrunners.co.uk

Baddinsgill
Sun 28 August
Nick Brown nick@caac.org.uk
Corstophine AAC www.caac.org.uk/Baddinsgill_Round

Devils Beef Tub
Sat 3 Sept
Willie Gibson willie.gibson@btinternet.com
Carnethy HRC  carnethy.com/ri_beeftub.htm

Penchrise Pen
Sun 18 Sept
Paul Lockie paullockie@btinternet.com
Teviotdale Harriers teviotdaleharriers.org.uk


All the race details are found on www.scottishhillrunners.uk and scottishhillracing.co.uk. Please contact the individual race organisers with queries about specific events.

The Scottish Borders Hill Race Series will have (modest) prizes for the following categories:
  • 1st overall male and female winners
  • 1st M + F Borders resident/ club member (if not the overall winner)
  • 1st Vet in categories where three or more finishers
Prize giving will take place after the last race in the Series, the Penchrise Pen.