Sunday, March 20, 2016

Scottish Borders Hill Race Series

Apologies that this is too late for the first race, but was only received this week. Colin Williams is coordinating the inaugural "Scottish Borders Hill Race Series" sponsored by James Jones & Sons Ltd. The basic website is here: Scottish Borders Hill Race Series  (http://bordershillraces.blogspot.co.uk/). .
 
The series consists of 10 short to medium races throughout the Borders in Spring and Summer. It is open to anyone over 18 years old and participants will have to complete a minimum of 5 races to qualify for a series placing. If you do more races then your 5 highest finishes will count.
 
The overall idea is a bit of prestige but also to increase numbers and promote the different races throughout the beautiful Scottish Borders in an increasing busy calendar. There is no additional fee or registration required to enter the series. To take part you simply need to enter the participating races as normal which are mainly Entry On the Day (EOD) except the Eildons and Baddinsgill which are pre-entry only.

The races for 2016 are:
 

Race
Date 2016
Organiser details /Event Website
Chapelgill
Sat 19 March
Robin Morris robin@rlmorris.co.uk
Gypsy Glen
Wed 18 May
Mike Pearson mike@kingsmeadows.co.uk
Moorfoot Runners www.moorfootrunners.co.uk

Yetholm
Sun 5 June
Les Turnbull les1984@btinternet.com
Norham AC

Eildons
Sat 25 June
Gerry Moss president@galaharriers.co.uk
Gala Harriers galaharriers.co.uk

Black Hill
Tues 5 July
David Young david@youngsfamily.plus.com
www.facebook.com/blackhillrace

Philiphaugh
Sun 7 August
Sheila Cochrane cochrane68@sky.com
Selkirk Fund Runners www.facebook.com/selkirkfundrunners

Cademuir
Sat 13 August
Gregor Nicholson gjn@macsinsport.co.uk
Moorfoot Runners www.moorfootrunners.co.uk

Baddinsgill
Sun 28 August
Nick Brown nick@caac.org.uk
Corstophine AAC www.caac.org.uk/Baddinsgill_Round

Devils Beef Tub
Sat 3 Sept
Willie Gibson willie.gibson@btinternet.com
Carnethy HRC  carnethy.com/ri_beeftub.htm

Penchrise Pen
Sun 18 Sept
Paul Lockie paullockie@btinternet.com
Teviotdale Harriers teviotdaleharriers.org.uk


All the race details are found on www.scottishhillrunners.uk and scottishhillracing.co.uk. Please contact the individual race organisers with queries about specific events.

The Scottish Borders Hill Race Series will have (modest) prizes for the following categories:
  • 1st overall male and female winners
  • 1st M + F Borders resident/ club member (if not the overall winner)
  • 1st Vet in categories where three or more finishers
Prize giving will take place after the last race in the Series, the Penchrise Pen.