Wednesday, April 06, 2005

Ian's Boundary Race Report.

Dunbar Running Club welcomed a large field of runners to the 2005 Dunbar Boundary race on Saturday 2 April. A warm, still spring morning gave Hallhill Healthy Living Centre the feel of a major international athletics event with many of the participants making good use of the running track to warm up and stretch. There was a keen air of anticipation at the start line with many runners hoping that their hard winter training would pay off with a fast personal best time at this classic distance of 10 KM. The race was dominated by three athletes from the Corstorphine club led by Moray Anderson. They took all three podium places as well as the team prize. The winning time was an impressive 32:21. Whilst a number of local club runners, as well as friends, were on marshalling duties ensuring that the event went without a hitch, a number managed to participate in the race. Ian Rowland again led the home team to the finish. He was placed fourth in a personal best time of 34:56 and took the first over 40 year old prize as well as the first local runner trophy. Ian Sills just managed to make a top ten finish by taking 10th place in a time of 36:00, a little off his personal best, but a satisfactory run for the start of the year. Grant Noble put in a quick last couple of kilometres to take 11th place in a time of 36:17. Subhar Anwar was placed 45th in a time of 39:10. Anne Hay was again the first Dunbar lady runner to finish in 101st place and a time of 43:57. Karen Page knocked more than a minute off her Grangemouth 10 km time just a couple of weeks earlier, by finishing in 117th place and in a time of 45:10.Clarissa Berry finished in a time of 49:12 and 177th place. Amanda Thorntonsmith was 203rd in a time of 50:46, with Dougie Jeffrey using this race as part of his marathon preparation finishing in a time of 52:36 and 222nd. Other Dunbar Club runners to complete the course were Sheila Morrison 53:24 and 228th, Theresa Leslie, 55:09 and 249th, Lindsay Brown 55:31 and 256th, Kevin Smith 56:46 and 260th. Tom Patton from Dunbar also ran and finished in a time of 64:21 to take 292nd place.

Stuart Hay, the Clubs President, directed the race with his usual combination of authority and humour. He thanked all runners for their participation, marshals for their assistance in ensuring the smooth running of the event and Hallhill for the use of their facilities. He also thanked Belhaven Brewery for their continued sponsorship.